My display device (TouchScreen,SDcard) ** NOW OPEN SOURCE **

A forum for discussing the MegaSquirt related (but non-B&G) board development, assembly, installation, and testing.

Moderators: jsmcortina, muythaibxr

93white3400z
Master MS/Extra'er

My display device (TouchScreen,SDcard) ** NOW OPEN SOURCE **

Post by 93white3400z »

Hi,

I would like to share with everyone my winter project. I'm making a display device for my Megasquirt. The software part is pretty easy for me (but pretty time consuming still) as I'm a Web developer, but I don't know much about hardware so I had a lot of fun learning how to make this. I could have bought a MegaView but personally I didn't really like it and it looks like the developement for it is close to none. Also, I really wanted to try to make my own and for the price I paid for all the hardware, it was definitly worth a try!

I guess a video or two will help you guys see where I'm at with this project

First video I made of it is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKf61zBj ... ature=plcp
That was when the communication with the Megasquirt wasn't done yet so the display was running in demo mode (random value).

Second video I made today have the communication with the Megasquirt working great: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKN3gsY9cbM

Hardware:
- chipKIT Uno32 (32-bits Arduino clone), I'm using an Arduino since I don't know much about eletronics, that was the easiest choice
- 4d Systems µLCD-32PT(SGC) LCD screen (3.2")
- SparkFun I2C to UART board (since there is not enough UART port on the chipKIT)
- FCE Eletronics Serial RS232 to UART board

Software:
- C++ with the ChipKIT libraries, using a premade library to communicate with the LCD and graphs and everything else made by me.